Born in Mexico City, Mexico on December 11, 1957. Following a three-year amateur career (54-4) that included a berth in the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games, Zaragoza turned professional in 1980. He won the Mexican bantamweight title in 1982 and successfully defended it 10 times.

He won the vacant WBC bantamweight title from Freddie Jackson (DQ7) on May 4, 1985 and lost it to Miguel "Happy" Lora in his first defense. In his next start he dropped a 10-round decision to Hall of Famer Jeff Fenech, but got back to his winning ways by capturing the NABF super bantamweight title on December 6, 1986. On February 29, 1988 he scored a 10th round TKO over Hall of Famer Carlos Zarate for the vacant WBC super bantamweight title. Five successful title defenses followed before his title reign was ended with a 9th round TKO loss to Paul Banke. Zaragoza bounced right back to reclaim the title with a 12-round points win over Kiyoshi Hatanaka in 1991 and registered two successful defenses, including a rematch win over Banke, before losing the crown to Thierry Jacob in France. He then drew and lost in two battles with WBC super bantamweight champ Tracy Harris Patterson. In 1995 he drew with WBC super bantamweight champion Hector Acero Sanchez but in a rematch four months later, the 35-year-old Zaragoza won a 12-round decision and was again champ. Zaragoza defended his title successfully four times, including a rousing contest with Wayne McCullough, in what is widely considered one of the most impressive wins of his career.

He retired from the ring after losing his title to fellow Mexican star Erik Morales on September 6, 1997. One of boxing's true road warriors, he engaged in 22 world title bouts and none were fought in his native Mexico. Despite a propensity to cut and lack of one-punch kayo power, "The Mouse" combined an effective southpaw jab with a driving work rate and great stamina to post a 55-8-3 (28KOs) professional record.

Born: Dec. 11, 1957
Bouts: 66
Won: 55
Lost: 8
Drew: 3
KOs: 27
Induction: 2004
Courtesy of The Ring
Daniel Zaragoza