(C) Copyright 1997,1998,1999,2000 All rights reserved
International Boxing Hall of Fame   1 Hall of Fame Drive   Canastota, NY 13032  P: 315.697.7095 F: 315.697.5356

Trainer Amilcar Brusa, administrator Jose Sulaiman
and artist LeRoy Neiman also enter Hall of Fame

   CANASTOTA, NY - DECEMBER 7, 2006 - The International Boxing Hall of Fame and Museum announced today the newest class of inductees to enter the Hall. Living inductees include four-division champion Roberto (Hands of Stone) Duran (Panama), two-division champion Ricardo (Finito) Lopez (Mexico), four-division champion Pernell (Sweet Pea) Whitaker (USA), trainer Amilcar Brusa (Argentina), administrator Jose Sulaiman (Mexico) and artist LeRoy Neiman (USA).

   “We're extremely excited about the Class of 2007 and very much looking forward to honoring the eighteenth class of inductees,” said Executive Director Edward Brophy. “All living inductees are anticipated to attend and participate in 2007 Hall of Fame Weekend festivities.”

   The 18th Annual Hall of Fame Weekend is scheduled for June 7-10th in Canastota, NY. Over 20 events, including a golf tournament, banquet, parade and autograph card show, are planned. A celebrity lineup of over 50 boxing greats of yesterday and today will attend this year's Induction Weekend. The highlight of the weekend will be the Official Enshrinement Ceremony on the Hall of Fame Museum Grounds in Canastota, New York on Sunday, June 10th to welcome the newest members.

   The Hall of Fame also released names of posthumous honorees: Heavyweight George Godfrey, lightweight Pedro Montanez and light heavyweight Kid Norfolk in the Old-Timer Category; manager / matchmaker Cuco Conde in the Non-Participant Category; newspaper cartoonist TAD Dorgan in the Observer Category; and Young Barney Aaron and Dick Curtis in the Pioneer Category. Inductees were voted in by members of the Boxing Writers Association and a panel of international boxing historians.

   For more information on the events planned for the 2007 International Boxing Hall of Fame Weekend, please call the Hall of Fame at (315) 697-7095.
Roberto Duran
Ricardo Lopez
Pernell Whitaker
Amilcar Brusa
Jose Sulaiman
LeRoy Neiman