Inductees to the Hall of Fame are named in five categories:

* Modern (Last bout no earlier than 1943)

* Old-Timer (Last bout no earlier than 1893; no later than 1942)

* Pioneer (Last bout in or prior to 1892),

* Non- Participant  (Those who have made contributions to the sport
  apart from roles as boxers or observers. Based upon a candidates         achievements and contributions in their particular field)

* Observer (Print and media journalists, publishers, writers,
  historians, photographers and artists)

(C) Copyright 1997,1998,1999,2000 All rights reserved
International Boxing Hall of Fame   1 Hall of Fame Drive   Canastota, NY 13032  P: 315.697.7095 F: 315.697.5356
Members of the Boxing Writers Association  of America and an international panel of boxing historians cast votes. Voters from Japan, England, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Germany, Puerto Rico and the United States are among those who participate in the election process.

An independent accounting firm tabulates the votes and the results are presented to the Hall. A news conference is held each year in December to announce the new class of inductees and the formal induction ceremony is held each year in June.