(C) Copyright 1997,1998,1999,2000 All rights reserved

Electors from around the world to select newest class of inductees

​    CANASTOTA, NY –OCTOBER 7, 2022 The International Boxing Hall of Fame released the 2023 election ballots to an international panel of voters on October 1st. 

    Members of the Boxing Writers Association of America and a worldwide panel of boxing historians cast votes. Voters from Japan, England, Canada, Argentina, Australia, The Netherlands, Germany, Mexico and the United States are among those who will participate in the election process.

    Inductees will be named in the following categories: Modern (last bout no earlier than 1989), "Late Era" Old-Timer (last bout no earlier than 1943; no later than 1988), Non-Participant (men and women who have made contributions to the sport apart from roles as boxers or observers. Based upon a candidate’s achievements and contributions in their particular field), Observer (print and media journalists, media executives and producers, publishers, writers, historians, record keepers, statisticians, photographers, artists and screenwriters), Women’s Modern (last bout no earlier than 1989) and Women’s Trailblazer (last bout no later than 1988).

    “The October 1st ballot mailing is a special time for the sport of boxing," said Executive Director Edward Brophy. "There is tremendous anticipation as the Hall of Fame and the worldwide boxing community anxiously await the results to determine who will join the list of boxing immortals.” 

    Appearing on the men’s modern ballot for the first time are middleweight and super middleweight world champion “King” Arthur Abraham (47-6, 30 KOs) from Germany, flyweight and junior bantamweight world champion Omar “El Huracán” Narvaez (49-4-2, 25 KOs) from Argentina and middleweight and super middleweight champion Michael “Second To” Nunn (58-4, 38 KOs) from Davenport, IA. 

    Light welterweight champion Jane Couch (28-11, 9 KOs) from England and super flyweight, bantamweight and super bantamweight champion Yazmin Rivas (40-10-1, 11 KOs, 4 NC) from Mexico debut on the women’s modern ballot.

    Light heavyweight champion Eddie Mustafa Muhammad (50-8-1, 39 KOs) from Brooklyn, NY was added to the “late era” old timer ballot. 

    Debuting on the women’s trailblazer ballot is JoAnn Hagen from South Bend, IN. 

    Referee Rudy Battle, trainer Joe Goossen and promotional executive Brad Jacobs have been added to the non-participant ballot.

    Journalist Tom Cushman and television executive Mark Taffet were added to the observer ballot.

    Ballots were distributed October 1st and a press announcement will be made in early December to reveal results of the voting. 

    The Class of 2023 will be honored during the Hall of Fame Induction Weekend on June 8-11, 2023 in “Boxing’s Hometown.” Schedule of events and ticket application will be released soon.

    Many events in “Boxing’s Hometown” of Canastota throughout the four-day celebration are planned and the Hall of Fame Weekend evening events include Friday night’s Fight Night at Turning Stone and Saturday’s Banquet of Champions. Both events will take place at Turning Stone Resort Casino.

    For more information on the 2023 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend, please call the International Boxing Hall of Fame at (315) 697-7095 or visit on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


International Boxing Hall of Fame   1 Hall of Fame Drive   Canastota, NY 13032  P: 315.697.7095 F: 315.697.5356